Category: Swimming



Dear Swimmers


Welcome to cooler, wetter times as the wonderful summer of 2019 moves on to the last week. Time to plan a weekend on South Island next month perhaps?


Applications for the 21st Meet have a general closing date of 18th January 2020.  Entries after that date will be accepted up to the 27th January but will incur an additional charge of £1 per event. We cannot guarantee to accept individual entries on the day – only the relay events.


With the first event being the 800m, please note that only the first 24 entries will be accepted for that event. The deadline for registering your arrival on the day for the 800m is 13:00. otherwise your place will be given to people on the waiting list, which worked well this year. 


Please go to and use the Events tab to see details of the 2019 Meet and then the link to 2020 event. 


Alternatively, please go straight to the application form on this link. Completed entries CAN be emailed to this address, assuming you can make payment through BACS:


We can also offer reduced fares on Wightlink ferries, so perhaps you can arrange a whole weekend stay. We do hope to see you for our 21st Event, with a meal afterwards if you’d like to join us,  meanwhile ‘Happy Swimming’ to us all.


Mrs Fiona Newnham


2020 Open Meet Saturday 8th February: Open Meet (Level 2) 

Venue: Medina Leisure Centre, Newport, Isle of Wight, PO30 2DX
Entry Closing Date: 21:00 on Friday, 18th January 2020

All the details so far can be found here!!!


Bill Letch wins South West Masters Swimming Award

Congratulations to Bill Letch of Exmouth SC who has been awarded the South West Region Masters ‘Swimmer of the Year’ trophy for 2018.


This year as a trial event, masters swimmers will have the opportunity to swim the 800m and 1500m along with the age-group swimmers in the Devon County Championships.   In effect our Masters Long Distance events would be incorporated into the Devon County Championships.

Masters will have ONE separate heat per event & so there will be a maximum of 10 swimming spaces per distance.  Both events will take place at the Life Centre and will be swum in the long course 50m pool. The 800m  will take place on 11 January and the 1500 on the  22nd February.
This year entries will be taken on a first come first served basis.

with your name, club, SE number & date of birth

Entry fee is £6.50


The Regional round of the National Masters Inter County Championship took place at Millfield on Sunday. 
Teams from Somerset, Dorset, Wiltshire, Cornwall, Gloucestershire and Devon all took part in a varied programme with swimmers ranging in age from 18 to 82.
The Devon Team, comprised:
Mark Ashton      Warren Barrett
Darren Beer       Katelyn Bergin
Emma Bickley Jane Bickley
Fin Bowden              Emma Challis
Matt Clarke          Graham Cridland
Tegan Drew           Tara Dudley
Sue Haigh              Matt Henry
Tom Hughes          Ann Humphris
Rebecca Jenkinson      Bill Letch           
   Nye Levett       Andy Matchett     
Alex McCrae     Fiona Mullin           
 Jamie Page      Shelagh Ratcliffe  
   Adam Reed     Danielle Scagell      
Charlie Smith      Ollie Taverner   
Katie Townsend       Nigel Travers Griffin    
 Simon Veale   Kalon Veale    
  Levin Veal    Sue Walker
Rob Will      Terry Windeatt
                            It was in every way a brilliant team effort, with each swimmer ‘pulling out all the stops’ to help Devon win by a convincing margin of over 90 points!!!!
                      My thanks go to Kalon Veale for his expert team selection and to Karen Adams and Mel Jeynes for supporting the team in their official capacity.
The final scores  :
Devon     355
Gloucestershire         264
Wiltshire  240
Dorset    230
Cornwall   230
Somerset    175
It will be interesting to learn how we have fared against other Regions in the National competition.
Sue Haigh


Congratulations to the Masters swimmers from clubs all over Devon who took part in the National Championships  in Sheffield at the end of October.   By the end of the weekend,  Devon had produced  21 National Champions.

Pride of place must go to Totnes Swimming Club.
Simon Veale swam to victory in  seven events, the 100m and 200 IM, 200m, 400m, 800m freestyle, 50m backstroke and 50m fly.
Kalon Veale took the 50m 100m and 200m backstroke  titles along with the 200m IM; Margaret Bickley the 100m back and 200m breaststroke and Dan John the 1500 freestyle.
The newly formed club Exe Masters also had its share of gold medals.; Adele Parham in the 400 individual medley, Philippa O’Grady in the 200 individual medley and Sue Haigh in the 200 back with the Exe Masters 72+ mixed freestyle team  of Tara Dudley, Victoria Malcolm, Jim Capron, Adam Tapp winning gold ian exciting tussle with the team from Exeter Swimming Club.
Stephen Hurley of Exeter Swimming Club won the 1500m freestyle and Warren Barrett from the Exeter University alumni  team took the  50 butterfly title.
The Exeter University alumni  team of Warren Barrett, Ilya Skliarov , Nye Levett and Josep Massey also took  the 100+ 4 x 50m freestyle title
There were also many other great swims & podium positions that can be seen from the results below.

Devon County Championships and Age Groups 2020

2020 Devon County ASA Championships & Age Groups Programme of EventsPlease find below the entry information for Next years Devon County Champs and Age Group competitions.

Closing Date for the Distance events is Monday 9th December 2019.

All other events are Wednesday 11th December 2019. Entries by club only using the Hytek files.

Please remember that as per the conditions all entry fee payments must reach the treasurer by 7 days after the closing date at the latest or the entries will be returned.

Volunteer and team passes info to follow.

Meet Events-Devon County 2020 Championships – Age Groups-12Jan2020-001

Meet Events-Devon Championships 2020-Distance-11Jan2020-001

Devon 2020Consideration times

2020 Championship & Age Group Conditions

2020 entry form

2020 Devon County ASA Championships and age groups programme of events.pdf