Team Devon consolidate their position as a First Division County

National Inter County Championship 7th October 2018

On our arrival at the team hotel at around 5.30 on Saturday evening the Devon swimmers  along with the officials were pleased to put the long coach journey behind them.  

Once allocated their rooms and after a brief period of downtime, we all gathered in the dining room for our evening meal. A team meeting followed, led by coach Jo John  and the  Devon County President, Jane Easton, was there to present each team member with their Devon pin.

On Saturday, an early breakfast set the team up for their efforts of the day and after a short coach ride, we arrived at the pool.  

On entering the complex, the excitement began to build, especially for those who had never experienced this event  before.  With over 1000 swimmers filling Ponds Forge, not to mention their attendant supporters, the atmosphere was buzzing long before the racing started. 

After the warm up, organised by coaches  Jo John, Neil Edwards, and Josh Norrie,  the team got got ready for the opening ceremony. 

The  Parade of the Counties commenced at 11:30 with the Devon Team Captains, Georgina Dennis and Alec White carrying our banner around the poolside.

Immediately after this the programme began with the two divisions competing in separate pools.

The racing began in excellent fashion for Devon, with Athena Clayson taking first place in the 16/17 freestyle event (55.99) and Sam Dailley following suit in the 16/17 freestyle (51.44).  

A superb swim by Cameron Williams earned him first place swim in the 14/15 breaststroke(1.04.44) and put him at the top of the list as the all time fastest 14 year old by over a second. 

Other first places were gained by Harry Noble in the boys 16/17 backstroke (55.86) and by the boys 16/17 medley team of Alex Mason, Ollie Taverner, Sam Dailley and Alec White (1:43.46). 

There were  individual second places for Jodie Dilks who swam a PB in the 12/13 breaststroke (1:14.16), Katelyn Bergin in the 16/17 backstroke (1:00.99) and Honey Osrin who also swam a PB in the 14/15 backstroke (1:02.15 ).  The 16/17 medley team of Athena Clayson, Hollie Steer, Emily Haimes and Georgina Dennis also gained second in their event (1:57.23).

Third places were gained by Sam Dailley in the 16/17 fly (55.46) and the 12/13 medley relay team of Isobel Bryant, Jodie Dilks, Josephine Klein and Tia Crews. (2:03.53).

Throughout the Championship there were many good swims by Devon swimmers including PBs  by:

 James Hart 14/15 fly (58.40)

 Aaron Nakamura-Drew  12/13 freestyle (59.92)

 Finn Broekhoven 12/13 backstroke (1:08.28) 

Aiden Symons Brown 14/15 freestyle (54.43) 

Josephine Klein  12/13 fly (1:07.94) 

Sam Ellis 12/13 fly (1:03.65) 

The swimmers worked together well as a team and the final points at the end of the racing put Devon in third place, only a few points behind second. This was a very good result for the team as they certainly justified Devon’s  place in Division 1 of this National competition. 

Full Team

12/13 years

Jodie Dilks                         Tiverton SC

Isobel Bryant                      Plymouth Leander SC

Josephine Klein                  Exeter City SC

Tia Crews                           Devonport RSA

Finn Broekhoven                 Plymouth Leander SC

Jamie O’Connor                 Mount Kelly Swimming

Sam Ellis                             Plymouth Leander SC

Aaron Nakamura-Drew       Plymouth Leander SC 


Flora Perkin                        Newton Abbot SC

Oriana Noel                        Plymouth Leander SC

Honey Osrin                       Plymouth Leander SC

Lucia Grant                         Plymouth Leander SC

Bella Hodges                      Mount Kelly Swimming

James Hart                         Plymouth Leander SC

Cameron Williams               Dartmoor Darts Aquatic

Aiden Symons Brown         Devonport RSA

Sam Arrowsmith                 Tiverton SC


Athena Clayson                   Mount Kelly Swimming

Katelyn Bergin                     Mount Kelly Swimming

Kaylee Dekker                     Natare West London SC

Hollie Steer                          Dartmoor Darts Aquatic

Emily Haimes                       Mount Kelly Swimming

Georgina Dennis                  Mount Kelly Swimming

Harry Noble                          Mount Kelly Swimming

Alex Mason                          Mount Kelly Swimming

Oliver Taverner                     Mount Kelly Swimming

Sam Dailley                          Mount Kelly Swimming

Alec White                            Exeter City SC

Grateful thanks are extended to the officials who accompanied the team; coaches- Jo John, Neil Edwards and Josh Norrie; our licensed referee Martin Walters and the Devon County President Jane Easton.


Team Manager

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.