Author: Mark Procter

Sports Development Unit courses for 2018

Dear All

Please find below a list of all the courses the Plymouth City Council Sports Development Unit is running in 2018 so far.  If there is a course you would like to attend, but it is not on the list please do get in touch as if we have enough people wanting to do a course we can arrange it.


Monday 15 January

Tuesday 27 February

Wednesday 18 April

Thursday 24 May

Monday 16 July

Tuesday 11 September

Wednesday 17 October

Monday 10 December

All these are from 6.30 to 9.30pm at Plymouth Life Centre and cost £35 per person.


Monday and Tuesday 1 and 20 March                6.30 to 9.30pm both days

Saturday 30 June                                                    10am to 4.30pm

Wednesday 7 and 14 December                          6.30 to 9.30pm both days

This course costs £40 per person and in March and December you need to attend both days to complete the qualification.

For more information and to book a place, please contact me on the number below.

Nicola White
Sports Development Administrator
Education, Participation and Skills
Plymouth City Council
Windsor House
T +441752307013


After the Devon County team’s great performance in winning the Regional Shield on the 19th November, their points were put forward for the National Inter County event.

When the National positions were revealed, Devon had equalled their best performance  by taking 4th place and were only 1.5 points away from 3rd place!

The County team secured several individual national podium positions:

Kalon Veale took first place in the 25+ fly and backstroke with Levin Veale claiming first place in the 18+ breaststroke and the 18+ Butterfly respectively.

Second places were taken by Simon Veale in the 55+ backstroke, Kalon Veale  in the 25+ freestyle, Sue Haigh  in the 65+ butterfly  and  Emma Bickley in both the 18+ backstroke and butterfly.

3rd places were secured by Kitty Hollinsworth 45+ backstroke, Simon Veale in the 55+ butterfly and Sue Haigh in the 65+ breaststroke and freestyle 

Relay teams were also successful in gaining the top placings:

The mixed 260+ freestyle (Bill Leitch, Rebecca Jenkinson, Sue Walker Simon Veale), the mixed 260+ medley relay (Rebecca Jenkinson, David Smith, Bill Letch Sue Walker), the men’s 72+ freestyle  (Levin Veale Kalon Veale Nye Levett and Will Rawlinson), the men’s 72+ medley relay, ( Kalon Veale, Levin Veale, Warren Barrett and Will Rawlinson) and the men’s 100+ medley relay (Kalon Veale Levin Veale Warren Barrett and Nye Levett) all took first place……..with the women’s 72+ medley relay (Emma Bickley, Emily Lawrence, Ellie Marquardt, Jodi Le Page) and the men’s 100+ freestyle relay teams (Levin Veale Will Rawlinson Tom Hughes Nye Levett ) all claiming second position.

The mixed 220+ freestyle relay team (Simon Veale Rebecca Jenkinson Sue Haigh and Nigel Travers Griffin) took third place 

Special mention also must go to Bill Leitch. As well as securing top results in his relay swims Bill took 4th, 5th and 9th places in his individual events, the backstroke, freestyle and butterfly while competing against swimmers potentially 12 years younger than himself!!

However, the whole team deserves a ‘pat on the back’ for a magnificent effort in regaining the Regional shield and placing so well in the National competition.

Team members: 

Stuart Baker                 Darren Beer

Emma Bickley             Jane Bickley

Emma Challis      Graham Cridland

Tara Dudley        Sue Haigh

Rebecca Jenkinson    Jodi Le Page

Bill Letch              Fiona Mullin

Jamie Page          Nigel Travers Griffin

Kalon Veale          Levin Veale

Simon Veale         Susan Walker

Rob Will               Alex McCrae

Cara Deasy            Warren Barrett

Tom Hughes        Emily Lawrence

Paul Russell         David Smith

Andrea Norris      Ellie Marquardt

Ali Browning       

 The team’s thanks go to both Kathy Forward and Mel Jeynes our two travelling officials.

Sue Haigh


See full results below

Swim England National Masters Inter-County Team Competition 2017